Honolulu Mayoral Primary: Blangiardi, Amemiya To Battle In General Election

Hawaii voters have chosen new faces over political veterans to compete to be Honolulu's next mayor.

Rick Blangiardi and Keith Amemiya finished 1-2 in the Honolulu mayoral primary election and will face-off against each other in the general election in November.

Blangiardi won the primary with 25.4% of the vote; Amemiya finished in second place with 20.4%.

Finishing behind the top 2 candidates were a slew of veteran politicians, each of whom has previously held or currently holds office. Former Hawaii legislator and U.S. Representative Colleen Hanabusa finished in third place with 18.4%. City Council member Kym Pine finished in fourth place with 14.3% of the vote. And former Honolulu mayor Mufi Hanneman, seeking the office he held from 2005 - 2010, finished in fifth place with 10%.

Honolulu mayoral primary results:

BLANGIARDI, Rick 65,195 25.4%

AMEMIYA, Keith 52,209 20.4%

HANABUSA, Colleen 47,136 18.4%

PINE, Kym Marcos 36,591 14.3%

HANNEMANN, Mufi 25,541 10.0%

STONEBRAKER, William (Bud) 15,393 6.0%

JAMES, Choon 4,897 1.9%

CARROLL, John 1,853 0.7%

WONG, Ho Yin (Jason) 1,336 0.5%

CARAVALHO, Ernest 1,020 0.4%

KEESING, Audrey 735 0.3%

MUSSELL, Micah Laakea 476 0.2%

BOURGOIN, David (Duke) 331 0.1%

DICKS, Karl O. 321 0.1%

GARRY, Tim 284 0.1%